Actual feedback from our online training customers ..

Ryan Koesuma Avatar

5 star rating   Steve's videos had been an invaluable knowledge for my sidemount skills. I do believe that this method of delivery is best suited for advanced dive training since you can always refresh the skills from the video, something that others are providing the theorical parts only

Ryan Koesuma 20 hours ago
Matt Rivett Avatar

4 star rating   Before I did Steve online course I did the padi sidemount speciality and of course I learnt a lot in the water on that course but then i started watching Steve videos and practicing the skills in the pool (video myself at the same time so I could criticise myself after) and personally for me most of Steve methods have worked for me 😀

Thank you Steve 👍

Matt Rivett 20 hours ago
Joseph Seda Avatar

5 star rating   Steve Martin’s method is absolute. The online training is a treasure trove to any diver seeking Sidemount knowledge. No agency teaching can compare. The choice is simple.. choose sidemount success.. choose Sidemounting . com

Subscribe to Steve Martin’s online video training today!

Joseph Seda 20 hours ago
Jared Grant Avatar

5 star rating   I love how you’re giving the diving community a taste of your online videos. I had purchased the videos several months back and have really enjoyed them. The previews that you are showing are only the tip of the iceberg compared to the full access ones. It is well worth the time and money to watch these videos. I went for the “everything included” package and I have learned so much from these step by step, very well put together series. I can see the amount of time and work that Steve has put towards these instructional videos. I would highly recommend purchasing these videos!

Jared Grant 20 hours ago
Chris Fletcher Avatar

5 star rating   I will be renewing for the third year in a row. I love having something to go to when I need a little help every now and then. Steve is precise and to the point in his videos. And I love the new videos about diving the caves in Florida as those are the caves I dive. Looking forward to new videos. Thanks for the help Steve.

Chris Fletcher 1 day ago
Johan Röisland Avatar

5 star rating   For me as a new certified PADI Sidemount Diver this course helped both to prepare my self for the course and to actually being able to travel to Malta and do a full week of Sidemount diving after without loosing time on how to set up my gear and all the other things they dont teach you at PADI. For me getting the certification was just the first step into SideMount Diving. I go back to the videos from time to time to refresh and pick up new ideas and techniques that can be refined. Thank you!

Johan Röisland 1 day ago
Hans Lange Avatar

5 star rating   A very good comprehensive video tutorial. Though I made hundreds of dives with sidemount I learned a lot! And it helped me to teach better courses. For anyone instructor out there who thing about proper sidemount teaching this course will help a lot!

Hans Lange 1 day ago
Blake Phillips Avatar

5 star rating   Ron Breines (the last reviewer) and I share a surprising amount in common. I'm also a university professor and dive instructor. I've recently started sidemount diving and having exceptional online material available is invaluable. As has been said, online material doesn't replace quality, in-person instruction. However, no matter how hard one tries, it is impossible to absorb and retain all the information transferred during in-person training which is often condensed into a short period of time. An online resource such as Steve's videos allows me to review and recall info forgotten. The snow is finally melting in Canada and I will be getting back in the water with a complete online refresher course to help me get tuned in. As a fellow dive instructor I can appreciate the knowledge transfer skills that Steve has honed over years of teaching. When you watch his videos you are learning from a master!

Blake Phillips 2 days ago
Lee Richards Avatar

5 star rating   Of all the various online courses I have taken over the years (non SCUBA included) these are by far the best.

Lee Richards 1 week ago
Barret Hatton Avatar

5 star rating   As a relatively new diver I was extremely pleased with the quality of the videos and instruction that I got from the series. Steve had useful and relevant tips that all divers would benefit from.

The video series are well organized, clearly presented, and of a very high quality. I have done online learning through some of the training agencies, and I can say that these videos are an order of magnitude better!! Also, I found the comments and discussion from others who had watched the videos quite useful.

Thanks Steve

Barret Hatton 1 week ago
Khaled Ashour Avatar

5 star rating   Really very useful videos for all levels..i found very interesting the different techniques to sidemounting with standard valves tanks.also the rescue video are very helpful ..Thanks a lot Steve for your hard work and all useful tips and tricks

Each time i watch the videos I learn something new

Khaled Ashour 1 month ago
Alexey Alvianskiy Avatar

5 star rating   Great knowledge base that quickly became essential to me. I'm very happy with the way lessons are structured and delivered. It reminds me rather an academic class that is full of information, well-structured and delivered in quiet manner. I really appreciate the absense of background noise, distracting music etc. It's also convenient to refresh some topics since phone and earplugs is all you need.

Alexey Alvianskiy 1 month ago
John Van Hyfte Avatar

5 star rating   Great instruction series. Unlike most online courses in other areas of study I have taken, the videos I have viewed are clear, concise, and give adequate information to improve many aspects of SM diving, and are applicable in other areas of diving as well.

Steve's "face-to-face" method of presenting the material makes the viewer get that "in-class" feel that helps transfer the knowledge by allowing the viewer to follow along while the video is running. This has already helped me better adjust my gear, which allows me to be a better diver in general.

I would highly recommend this series to those that want to improve their dive skills.

John Van Hyfte 1 month ago
Dai Leake Avatar

5 star rating   Once a training course is over it is not always possible to go back with the what if questions. Steve’s excellent video course allows valuable follow up study, so you can find answers when you do it for real. As a PADI instructor, I find Steve’s videos invaluable for my personal diving and for those tricky to answer questions from students. Keep up the good work Steve

Dai Leake 1 month ago
Matthew Fish Avatar

5 star rating   I'm a back mount tec/cave diver just getting into sidemount. Steve's videos are incredibly helpful to me learning sidemount. They are very well put together. More important though, is that he explains, demonstrates and gives the reasons why his side mount methods are better than others. If you're a diver at any level I highly encourage you to watch his videos! They will definitely help you become a better diver!

Matthew Fish 1 month ago
Lars Rørstrøm Avatar

5 star rating   The best online training ever. Easy to understand and very well made.

Greetings from Denmark.

Lars Rørstrøm 1 month ago
Simon Cohen Avatar

5 star rating   I started watching the side mount online series Xmas 2017. I have been enthralled by the dedication that has gone into the development, commentary and quality of the videos. from the setting up of tanks, harnesses to S-Drills, ascents and descents. A must for all aspiring and qualified sidemounters and dare I mention it, backmounters. (who have not seen the light yet!)

Simon C

Simon Cohen 1 month ago
Petr Příkazský Avatar

5 star rating   Good job Steve! Great tutorials for both new and experienced divers. You are taking SM to the next level. Going where nobody has gone before 😀

Petr Příkazský 1 month ago
Taras Kalapun Avatar

5 star rating   I have a great pleasure watching instructional videos from Steve. They do not replace the in-water training, but they add a great value of tips and hints and make you think more on your skills and how to be a better diver. Great value!

Taras Kalapun 1 month ago
Fabio Miccolis Avatar

5 star rating   It is the best way to improve your skills. Concise videos, that you can see several times will let you improve your diving

Fabio Miccolis 1 month ago
Fred GM Avatar

5 star rating   There is nothing worst than getting a sidemount kit, signing up for a course and having a terrible instructor. Trust me, good sidemount instructors are a rare find!

With Steve Martin’s training videos you can be sure you got a great instructor who, through his videos, answers all the questions you have regarding sidemount. It teaches you all the tricks, tweaks and skills needed to have an enjoyable sidemount dive. All you need to do is get wet and apply all the knowledge you learnt!

Fred GM 1 month ago
Hans Kristian Knudsen Avatar

5 star rating   JUST GREAT !!!

Hans Kristian Knudsen 1 month ago
Lauri Salmi Avatar

5 star rating   Steve doesn't just teach, but his videos are actually fun to watch and inspiring

Lauri Salmi 1 month ago
Bert van Leeuwen Avatar

5 star rating   I started learning about sidemount with Rob Neto’s book, but learning sidemount started with Steve Martin’s online training.

What is particularly good that Steve explains why you need to do things.

What I miss sofar is a subject about ring bungees and the Dive Rite setup for tanks, if only for completeness.

Bert van Leeuwen 1 month ago
Alexander Skorik Avatar

5 star rating   Fantastic online materials.

Superb attention to details.

Like and definitely recommend to anyone wishing to try smth new in scuba.

Alexander Skorik 1 month ago
Stephen Griffith Avatar

5 star rating   I have had these videos for the last 12 months and still keep going back to them to check up on little things. I mainly do open water diving and had been self taught side mount for about 12/18 months before I bought these videos. What a difference they made to my diving. It was all the little tweeks that you can make to balance and adjust the system that I was missing. Made a world of difference. If you think that £143.00 is a lot for some on line video you would be so wrong. They are well made and informative well every penny.

Stephen Griffith 1 month ago
Kosta Koeman Avatar

5 star rating   These videos are a must for anyone getting into sidemount. It doesn't replace a good instructor, but it gives you a huge amount of useful information that will help you get more out of a course.

I believe that instructors who teach sidemount should also watch these videos, so that they can pick up some additonal tricks on helping their students.

Kosta Koeman 1 month ago
David Debruyne Avatar

5 star rating   awesome new series like them even better then the old ones

again picked up some new stuff..would like to contribute a little as I see some small improvements possible for loopbungee attachment for people who dive real cold water an have dry gloves very thick undergarments etc...

David Debruyne 1 month ago
Tony Marjakangas Avatar

5 star rating   Online based training by Steve Martin is really good, explained very well and you can replay the videos how many times you like. He also personally answers any questions you might have about the training material.

Tony Marjakangas 2 months ago
Lukáš Adámek Avatar

5 star rating   Hello Steve,

Your online training vids, way of diving, tips on setting up equipment are just amazing.

Finally, my setup works the way it should be, and I really appreciate your kind of teaching.

Good job.

BR

Lukas

Lukáš Adámek 2 months ago
Greg Engelberg Avatar

5 star rating   Great teacher! If you are back mount diver, you must try this.

Greg Engelberg 2 months ago
Sam Joshua Norton Avatar

5 star rating   Fantastic videos and a must for anyone who really cares about been the best side mount divers possible. these videos along side a good instructor and you will bet set up with the best knowledge and skills out there.

Sam Joshua Norton 2 months ago
Frank WeeMan Grigus Avatar

5 star rating   As a newer diver I found Steve's videos a huge asset in increasing my knowledge as a diver. Very clear and easy to follow instructions. You really get your money's worth!! Thanks for taking the time and putting together this video series Steve!

Frank WeeMan Grigus 2 months ago
Matej Koršič Avatar

5 star rating   Good morning Steve.

Yes, me and my 2 friends all studied together all your SM videos and configured our Stelth tech in that way. It was really helpful. We have already dived sidemount rigs (Apex, Razor and my home made). We mostly 95% do cave diving with SM and occasionally we do sump diving and exploring. But with the Stelth rig and your video instructions these is an other world :). We are all certified cave divers. We also use multiple stages to get further in the cave. We never did a proper SM courese or took someone to correct our trim, stage pozition, managing scenarios. We are using knowledge from our experiences and previous courses. And is going pretty good 🙂 Not the best, but enough to dive safely.

The idea of doing the in water training with you would be to refine our SM skills, to get some ideas how to manage scenarios, what to correct, ect.

I know that the price of the course will be an issue. But that we will discus if we will decide to come on Gozo.

It would be a pleasure to get trained from you.

We will keep in touch. Please let me know when you will have a fix schedule, so we can talk further.

Thank you again for answer me back.

I whish you a pleasant day.

Best regards.

Matej Koršič from Slovenija

Matej Koršič 2 months ago
William Baker Avatar

5 star rating   This is an awesome training course. Perfect for those thinking about diving this style or experienced Sidemount divers. Really appreciate how you continue to add more resources. Great Job Steve!

William Baker 2 months ago
Bruno Petraroia Avatar

5 star rating   Excelente como siempre Steve !aunque echo en falta subtítulos en español

Bruno Petraroia 2 months ago
Ivan Arzola Avatar

5 star rating   I started diving in July 2017. Since then I have spent almost every weekend in the water doing saome diving and learning new skills. My mentor is a sidemounter and when I decided to go into intro to tec that is the platform he steered me into. That is 3 months ago. I have been enjoying learning the new platform and honing my skills particularly the back kick. One of the guys at the shop, Jay Lytell suggested to look at Steve's website that it had a lot of good information. Wow he was not wrong.

The information is invaluable. To say the least being relatively new to the sport I got all the courses, trying to get kids and wife into this also. Watching and seeing the various skills and tips have helped me improve quickly with my skills. Still need some work with buoyancy or better yet staying still in the water, buoyancy not bad. I tend to move my feet a little which makes me move around too much. I am reminded of it. LOL

I have an Apeks 25 rig which is great, but now these guys are all in XDeep rigs. Making me jealous but I am learning and gaining experience I will try the XDeep for sure.

All the info here and what I have been able to implement and practice have helped me in the water every time I get in. Looking forward to next time. Water in Northern Virginia at Millbrook Quarry is 40 F and it gets to you after a while. Need some warm weather or a trip. Keep up the good work Steve.

Ivan Arzola 2 months ago
Jay Lytell Avatar

5 star rating   I have been following Steve martin for several years, from his older website to the new. Using the modifications on my other two side mount rigs to finally getting my latest, XDeep Tec. The information has been invaluable! A year has passed since I signed onto the online courses, I initially purchased Sidemount Essentials and then added on another course. The video's are HD quality and to say they are in depth is stating it lightly. You will get the WHY on everything not just do it this way. The in water explanation by Steve on each video shows exactly what is happening with the divers set up and then the steps to correct the deficiency is explained in detail. No other video, book or diver I have met was able to convey this message. For me, this was by far the best money I have spent for sidemount. The common statement I hear from other sidemount divers is "I'm not comfortable in the rigging", I used to say the same thing, not anymore! Purchase, watch, watch again. The best part is you can take it anywhere! Even while your on a dive trip! I go back on my IPhone, IPad and laptop, not just at home, the quality is the same. There are many great instructors out there the difference is you can take this one with you 24, 7, 365!

Jay Lytell 2 months ago
Daniel Vandervaere Avatar

5 star rating   As a tec and sidemount instructor, Steve's videos have helped me build on how I run my courses, and I have noticed an improvement in my students' skill and comfort. Thanks so much Steve!

Daniel Vandervaere 2 months ago
Louagie Gerben Avatar

5 star rating   Super goed, veel geleerd en in praktijk omgezet

Louagie Gerben 2 months ago
Henrik Söderlund Avatar

5 star rating   Extremely thorough training, covering every possible topic in detail. All rigging/equipment videos are shot in HD close-ups to ensure everything is crystal clear for you to understand. In-water shots and other on-land training is equally excellent and I can't recommend the course enough, simply brilliant.

Henrik Söderlund 2 months ago
Raffaele Ioime Avatar

5 star rating   Qualità eccellente e materiale curato nei minimi dettagli per studenti e Istruttori , grazie Steve �

Raffaele Ioime 2 months ago
Ron Breines Avatar

5 star rating   There are so many good reviews here, why would adding another one make a difference? Well, it might not, but this review is from a technical dive instructor who had already been diving sidemount for some time. I didn't really need to take this online course, and as an educator (professor,) I am quite familiar with teaching strategies, methodologies and pedagogy. However, these aspects of education are not always effectively transferred to online courses, especially in dive courses, which is a physical activity that needs to be practiced where there is no access to a video - underwater. Yet, Steve manages to turn his online program into a simulated face to face one. There is so much information here that even in a face to face situation, this material would take months to cover, and more to absorb (especially for the beginner.) The benefit of a video course like this is that rather than taking notes, the student can watch the information over and over. Steve breaks down the information into simple ideas and concepts, and then demonstrates pretty much most of the possibilities, slowly and comprehensively. This series is as effective for the teacher of diving, as it is for the student of sidemount. Of course, as has already been mentioned, it is not designed to be a complete sidemount course that doesn't require a good instructor to work with, and Steve will not certify a diver who finishes this online series unless Steve actually gets in the water with that candidate, but the program is an incredibly informative resource for any hands on course with a good instructor, and it is of the highest quality educationally that I've seen in the diver education market. Thanks Steve!

Ron Breines 2 months ago
Phil Tobin Avatar

5 star rating   I have been diving sidemount for about seven years when I discovered this website, and still I found so much that was new to me there. This is invaluable to sidemount divers of any level!

Phil Tobin 2 months ago
Andrea Ceriani Avatar

5 star rating   An amazing collection of videos and tips to perfect your side mount set-up.

Andrea Ceriani 2 months ago
Diver René Avatar

5 star rating   Learn straight from one of the very best. There's not much else to say, the online courses are very well laid out, easy to follow and understand, and are separated into bite-sized pieces with appropriate amounts of repetition to reinforce learning. To say it's 100 times better than something like the PADI eLearning is really doing it a disservice: it's not even in the same league.

A good amount of attention is placed on properly setting up gear before even hitting the water, and it makes transitioning into something like sidemount very easy for experienced divers. I literally followed the instructions for setting up my harness, got in the water, clipped and bungeed my tanks, and I was in trim from the get-go. This allowed me to focus on diving rather than messing around with gear configurations, harness sizing, and other nitpicky points that could have taken 5-10 dives to fine tune.

I can't recommend these courses enough. If you're interested in becoming a better diver, you owe it to yourself to check these courses out. They may seem a bit pricey at first, but the value is actually tremendous. I hear that the in-person classes are of the same caliber, although once you enter that realm there are far more options, some of which are probably closer to home. As far as I can tell, Steve Martin is the only one doing online courses like this.

Diver René 2 months ago
Daniel Glynn Avatar

5 star rating   Clear, comprehensive training. An excellent resource for both students and instructors. If you have a question about sidemount configuration, gear or skills, the online material provides well thought out guidance. Online training is not a substitute for in-water training, but your diving will improve after watching all of Steve's training videos. I found that my buoyancy control improved after weighting myself correctly using Steve's protocol.

Daniel Glynn 2 months ago
Antonello Porchedda Avatar

5 star rating   Semplice e intuitivo. Seguire le lezioni attraverso la visione dei filmati di Steve ti permette di verificare passo dopo passo, l'apprendimento. Non vedi l'ora di entrare in acqua per ripetere gli esercizi e gioire del successo. Grazie Martin

Antonello Porchedda 2 months ago
Delyan Popov Avatar

5 star rating   Great videos, absolutely worth every penny. The explanations, the attention to detail, the logic behind everything, the presentation, even the humour in some cases - in one word, awesome.

Great job, Steve, keep the good stuff coming. Safe diving.

Delyan Popov 2 months ago
Thorben Schilling Avatar

5 star rating   Great training videos. Perfect quality. Learned more by doing the online training than in some real classes.

Thorben Schilling 2 months ago
David Caissy Avatar

5 star rating   Excellent training material, I've learned a great deal about sidemount diving through Steve's videos. I especially like that each video talks about a single specific topic, making it easier to absorbe. Great job Steve!

David Caissy 2 months ago
Jay Diver Avatar

5 star rating   I had been diving sidemount for about a year before I watched any videos from Steve and when I subscribed I basically started over on my gear set up per Steve’s directions and it was such a huge improvement. I allowed myself six months of video training and practice at home before I met Steve in Mexico for my full cave class. This helped me prepare so much and allowed me to focus on the in water skills. The training is not just to complete the minimum requirements, Steve pushes you to be the best you can at all skills to make you a safer and more competent diver in all your diving adventures. Without a doubt this was one of the hardest things I have ever done but it was so worth it and I can see a huge difference in my skills that I gained throughout this process.

I can not recommend Steve and his training enough!

Jay Diver 3 months ago
Christoph Söhnel Avatar

5 star rating   Educational online series with outstanding quality and awesome level of detail. During in-water training Steve is one of the very few instructors that really can put himself in the student's shoes... whatever problem you have in diving, Steve can identify and fix it in an efficient manner.

Christoph Söhnel 6 months ago
Gary Anderson Avatar

5 star rating   Couldn't recommend these vidz enough. Worth every single penny. Buy!

Gary Anderson 7 months ago
Denčić Aleksandar Avatar

5 star rating   Very informative. Very useful to know.

Denčić Aleksandar 7 months ago
Fredrik Liljeblad Avatar

5 star rating   You can't find better training online or in-water.

Fredrik Liljeblad 8 months ago
Simone Villotti Avatar

5 star rating   Ho acquistato il coso side e tek ... super interessante, veramente una acquisto ben fatto !

I buy the sidemount & tek online course ! ... super!!! Really good purchase!!

Simone Villotti 8 months ago
Atanas G. Malamov Avatar

5 star rating   Absolutely the best source of online training and information on different types of diving and equipment !

Atanas G. Malamov 8 months ago
I learned to
0
scuba dive
certified as
0
tec trimix diver
became a
0
diving instructor
became a
0
course director
certified as
0
sidemount cave diver
became a
0
cave instructor